Digital licence plates were first used as a trial programme in California
The use of digital license plates began in California as part of a pilot program, but the plates are now made available to anyone in the state who is interested in obtaining one. As a consequence of a law that was just recently enacted, the state of California will soon allow all of its residents to switch to digital license plates (AB-984). If you want a digital license plate, your sole option is to purchase one from Reviver, the only company that offers such a service. According to Reviver, there are around 10,000 vehicles in the state of California that have been issued license plates as part of the pilot program.
There is no doubt that this number will increase as the word goes about the passage of a new law that removes the restrictions on who can buy them. In case you are unfamiliar with digital plates or have never seen or heard of them before, Reviver’s plates use a monochromatic high-definition display that has settings for both light and dark (black or white background). They are powered by batteries, which, according to Reviver, have a lifespan of five years. But, if you are a commercial customer, Reviver can provide you with a hardwired system that gets its power from the 12-volt battery of the vehicle.
Why do you feel the need to have one? The outward manifestation is almost certainly the most significant component. It’s possible that you choose the monochromatic look of your vehicle over any of the other license plate selections that are available to you. In addition to that, you have the option of adding a personalized message that will be shown on the bottom third of the plate. Your digital display can be designed to show the year and month for which your registration is valid, eliminating the need for a sticker to provide this information. This “renewal” procedure can be said to occur automatically.
The Reviver claims that additional DMV transactions, vehicle diagnostic and maintenance alerts, family services, and alerts, stolen vehicle reporting, and recovery spots, tolling system connection, stolen vehicle recovery spots, integration with parking and other payment services, and tolling system connection are some of the features that are on the roadmap.
How much would all of this ultimately set you back? At this time, the only option available to you is to subscribe to the plate, which will set you back $19.95 per month for a total of 48 months. The total cost of a subscription for four years paid in one installment is $215.40. The hardwired commercial plate has a monthly fee of $24.95 and will cost a total of $275.40 over the course of four years. Installing the aforementioned plate in a professional manner will set you back $150.